A JEWEL IN THE HEART OF MEISSEN
The HOTEL RESIDENZ and its CAFÉ are located in the historic city centre of Meißen. 23 double rooms in different sizes and three single rooms are provided for the guests. the exquisite interior with its modern paintings gives an unique touch to the hotel.
Besides the breakfast restaurant, a minibar, SAT-TV, a room safe and an elevator, the hotel provides everything you will need for a comfortable residence.
The „Journal Café Cappuccino“ in the hotel offers coffee, hot chocolate and tea specialities from all over the world, various cakes, ice cream and savoury snacks. In case of fine weather, one can always use the veranda. If you would like to take a walk through the lovely city, here you can find the perfect starting point. One can see the charming “Turchmachertor” next to the “Frauenkirche” and the town hall directly from the hotel rooms.
A 19TH CENTURY BUILDING
The former residential and commercial property was built on the foundations of three previous buildings from the Middle Ages. Construction started around 1800. The building was renovated from 1996 onward. The remains of two open-hearth kitchens without windows, situated in the centre of the building where meals were prepared, and other traces of previous uses have been preserved to the present day. The terracotta figures between the windows were created by the Meißen artist Oskar Burkhardt, and were installed during the refitting of the shop on the ground floor around 1926.
The former residential and commercial property was built on the foundations of three previous buildings from the Middle Ages. Of these older buildings, the remains of two open-hearth kitchens without windows, situated in the centre of the building where meals were prepared, as well as a hidden stairway, are still preserved. The smoke in these open-hearth kitchens escaped through a gap in the ceiling. The open fireplace in these kitchens was frequently the only heating system in medieval houses. The rooms were dark, soot-encrusted and smoky. This gave them their German nickname of ‘Rauchküche’ or ‘Schwarzküche’, meaning smoky or black kitchen. The building was renovated around 1860/67, most probably to create new and stylish rendering on the façade around the ground floor. Paint analyses of the building have revealed that some of the old coatings in the rooms date back to this time.
The shopfront on the corner of Fleischergasse was again repurposed in 1926. The shop windows were given their unusual form with the curved corners, and terracotta figures by the Meißen artist Oskar Burkhardt were installed between the windows. Cornelius Gurlitt dedicated just two lines to the house in his reference book Bau- und Kunstdenkmäler des Königreichs Sachsen (Listed Buildings and Cultural Monuments in the Kingdom of Saxony), writing: “Residential building with 18 windows along its front, facing the church, two upper floors. Very simple architecture in the style of the period around 1800." The house was used as a simple residential and commercial building for decades. Two shops were located in the house around 1990, one of which was vacant. There were apartments in the floors above
The building was in a reasonably good condition, but the facade was extremely soiled, and there were a few leaks in the roof. The building was acquired at the start of the 1990s by the investor who had also bought the property on Markt 5 and transformed it into a hotel. He required significant additional space for rooms in order to create this hotel, which he acquired in the building An der Frauenkirche 1, essentially turning that house into the accommodation section of the marketplace hotel. Renovation started in 1996, and the hotel ‘Am Markt Residenz’ opened its doors in May 1988. There has been a café on the ground floor since then.